On June 15, 2012, President Obama announced that the U.S. Dept. of Homeland Security would not deport certain DREAM Act–eligible undocumented youths. Under a directive from the secretary of Homeland Security, these youths are given temporary relief called “deferred action,” formally known as deferred action for childhood arrivals.  Thousands have already applied and been approved for DACA.

If you qualify for this program, you will not be subject to removal for a period of two years, and at this time, it can be renewed without limitation.  In order to qualify, you must:

1.  Not have turned age 31 as of June 15, 2012

2.  Not have turned age 16 when you came to the U.S. to live

3.  Have continuously lived (“resided”) in the U.S. since June 15, 2007 up to when you     apply (excluding any brief, casual, and innocent departures)

4.  Were physically present in the U.S. on June 15, 2012, and also at the time you apply for deferred action

5.  Either entered the U.S. without inspection before June 15, 2012, or if you entered with inspection, your lawful immigration status (such as a visa or Temporary Protected Status (TPS)) had expired as of June 15, 2012

6.  Are either in school now (unless absent for emergency reasons), have graduated or earned a certificate of completion from an accredited high school, have obtained a general education development (GED) certificate, or are an honorably discharged veteran of the Coast Guard or Armed Forces of the United States, and

7.  Have not been convicted of a felony, significant misdemeanor, or three or more other misdemeanors; and do not otherwise present a threat to U.S. national security or public safety (such as by being a member of a gang).
There are a number of very important benefits you will receive through the DACA program, including the following:

  • Obtain a drivers license (45 out of 50 states)
  • No worry of deportation or removal for two years
  • Legally work in the U.S.

If you are interested in applying for relief under the DACA program, contact us before you apply.